nomadcrush.blogg.se

Macrium reflect free vs acronis
Macrium reflect free vs acronis












macrium reflect free vs acronis
  1. #Macrium reflect free vs acronis software#
  2. #Macrium reflect free vs acronis windows#

Maybe one does a better of job of flagging/informing that the other. (Then again, the backups of my OS drive are relatively small compared to some of the nightly backups that are done.)Īnyway, back to the Acronis vs Macrium question, I thought that I would perhaps try each on that File System error situation I'm able to recreate, then see how each handles the backup & restore processes. But in my view, I'd gladly wait a few more seconds/minutes for the backup to complete if it meant a truly recoverable backup. I understand there is the issue of adding time to the backup process, etc. In that way, the "Index Corrupted" issue would be discovered by the user at the time the backup was created - not when the recovery is attempted. I asked them basically, if the installed version is able to immediately test the backup at the start of the recovery and very quickly flag a problem before the recovery begins, why isn't that same test run on newly created backups (or when backup is validated).

macrium reflect free vs acronis

(BTW: I was able to run chkdsk on the backup - the errors show up - at least in the instance I tried.) And I could have perhaps found and fixed the hidden File System error. So a year ago, using ATI 2019, had I tried to recover my disk using the Installed version, no, I wouldn't have been able to recover - but the recovery would have quickly aborted and my disk would have remained intact. It would apparently do some sort of quick check on the backup right off the bat, because it would IMMEDIATLEY inform you of the problem and abort the recovery attempt… BEFORE wiping your disk clean. The Installed version, however, was much more helpful - and respectful of your data. It would wipe the drive clean THEN tell you, "Oh, by the way, the Index is Corrupted" and the backup can't be recovered.

macrium reflect free vs acronis

the Recovery Media version would do real damage before informing you there was a problem. In the instance I'm able to recreate, neither version of Acronis could recover the backup, but. At least in the instance that I'm able to recreate, there is a significant difference in how the Installed version of Acronis and the Recovery Media version handle a backup that is non-recoverable due to an underlying File System error. I played around with Acronis and made an interesting discovery. But I learned a valuable lesson, and it is this: when Acronis says in the fine print that the only way to be certain that a backup will restore is to test it by restoring to a spare drive… believe it.Īs I said earlier, after the Acronis recovery failure of last year I'm making some changes to my backup routine, including adding more redundancy.Ĭan Aronis TI 2020 and the free version of Macrium Reflect 7 be used on the same machine?Īn interesting thing about those File System errors… Luckily, this problem happened on a secondary computer that contained no vital data. I've learned the hard way that it may not. Holy Cow!Īfter weeks of back and forth with Acronis, an Acronis manager contacted me to apologize and say, "this was an unfortunate situation where the product failed to work." He also said that he had contacted the development team about my case.įor years I had trusted that if an Acronis backup Validated, it would also Recover. Worse, the Recovery Media only informed me of the index problem AFTER it had wiped my drive clean in preparation for the Restore operation. It was only when I attempted to Recover one of those backups that the Acronis Recovery Media informed me with a popup, "Index Corrupted", followed by "Recovery operation failed".

#Macrium reflect free vs acronis software#

For weeks the Acronis software had been creating and validating nightly disk image backups that would later not Recover. SOME BACKGROUND, for those who are interested…Īfter the Recovery failure, the Acronis support people traced the problem to a File System issue on the drive. I'm asking because last year I had an Acronis recovery fail and I'm looking to make some changes to my backup routine, including adding redundancy.

#Macrium reflect free vs acronis windows#

Can Acronis TI 2020 and Macrium Reflect be used on the same windows machine?














Macrium reflect free vs acronis